Democratia Europaea

Our Principles

Our principles are incorporated in a letter which is circulating in the European Parliament and which has been signed by Members of Parliament from many countries and different political groups.

Letter open for signature by the Members of the European Parliament, the content of which gives the principles of the association ‘For European Democracy’ in Strasbourg, which defends these principles through a campaign of public relations campaigns targeting all citizens of member states.

Démocratie européenne-Europäische Demokratie- European democracy

Strasbourg, November 16th, 2006

We, the undersigned members of the European Parliament

Pursuant to the ongoing discussions about administrative and institutional reforms before the next enlargement 1 concerned about promoting the respect of the principle of subsidiarity, of multilinguism and multiculturalism, of the reduction of the democratic deficit of the European Union, and about increasing the proximity to citizens, reaffirm our commitment to the following key principles which should guide all discussions and actions towards the achievements of these goals and the improvement of European democracy:

  • Parliamentarianism
  • Plurality
  • Transparency
  • Decentralisation and polycentrism

We affirm our desire to promote these key principles while underlining the importance of the continued budgetary rationalisation of European institutions – without however, endangering these principles in any way.

Furthermore, we wish that the citizens of all countries of the European Union be informed and be able to participate in these discussions, as for example is suggested by the European Commission within the framework of “Plan D: Democracy, Dialogue and Debate”, whose goal is to “close the gap between the European Union” and the citizens of the member states.

This is why we commit to giving our patronage to the implementation of the above mentioned projects, by all appropriate means.

Mario Mauro, Vice-President, European Parliament, Vice-President, Parliament’s Bureau
Anna Zaborska, Chairwoman, Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality
Othmar Karas, Vice-Chairman, Group of the European People’s Party (Christian Democrats) and European Democrats
Ioannis Kasoulides, Vice-Chairman, Delegation for relations with the Palestinian Legislative Council
Bernd Posselt, former Vice-Chairman, Committee on Citizens’ Freedoms and Rights, Justice and Home Affair
Carlo Casini, former President, Committee on Legal Affairs
Jean Spautz, former Ministre, former President of the Parliament of Luxembourg
Astrid Lulling, Quaestor, Vice-Chairwoman, Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembl
Robert Goebbels, Vice-President, European Socialist Group
Marie Anne Isler Béguin, Chairwoman, Delegation to the EU-Armenia, EU-Azerbaijan and EU-Georgia Parliamentary Cooperation Committees
Catherine Trautmann, Vice-Chairwoman, Committee on Industry, Research and Energy
Dieter-Lebrecht Koch, Committee on Transport and Tourism
Ruth Hieronymi, Committee on Culture and Education
Lydie Polfer, Vice-Chairwoman, Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly
Claude Turmes, Vice-Chairman, Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance, Committee on Industry, Research and Energy
Erna Hennicot-Schoepges, Committee on Industry, Research and Energy

1 cf. for example, the Communication of the Commission to the European Parliament and the Council: Enlargement Strategy and main challenges 2006-2007 (COM (2006) 649 final), and the publication of the White Paper on a European communication policy (COM (2006) 35 final)

Author :